Choosing Love, It’s Time.

This morning I lay in bed texting friends. In the early morning hours of the day we voice our fear and shock. One friend is taking a day off to take care of them-self; to process their fear and disappointment. Another friend is deeply afraid for her unborn child and the children she works with, worrying what her day will be like. This is the world I wake up to.

The sun is shining, the birds are singing and I’m angry, I’m disappointed, I’m scared, I’m hurt, I’m shocked.

A part of me takes this game of politics so personally because there was a lot at stake for the future and current reality of America. I want to to point the finger, I want to go off and yell and scream and cry.

And now that my fear has materialized I realize despite all the dread and anger coming up for me, I have a choice. That in the end it’s not the politics that matter here, I still have a choice.

This morning and every morning I have a choice, and I have a fire with which to fight because you better believe this is a call to arms.

It’s not the call you think though, it’s not about turning people into “them” versus “us” or fighting fear with fear and breeding dehumanization.

It’s about you doing what you can where you can and not letting bullshit distract you from your power and the steady strength that beats in your heart.

We all came here with a purpose and it’s time. It’s time. It’s time. It’s time. We can no longer afford to step around our greatness or buy into our fears or the fears of others.

This is it, People. This is the work. You are the work.

Love, forgiveness, compassion; the daily decision to choose them over your own fears, no matter how loud or real.

We we’re not put here to make concessions on our dreams or the greatness we were born to be. It takes strength to love regardless of what others are doing and strength to choose love over hate. It is our decision to love, our decision to be happy despite what is going on around us and to show up, where our true power lies.

There is love and greatness within you and no one can ever take that away. Your job is to remove the blocks that prevent you from seeing that, that prevent you from choosing that.

You were born with passion and fire and light and it’s time you start living it. There is no mistake.

This is the work. Are you up for it?

“…but I won’t regret cause you can grow flowers from where dirt use to be.” -Kate Nash

This morning I got out of bed and found a card on the kitchen counter. And white flowers planted around my sweet cat’s freshly covered grave. The card, the flowers, the grave, the fresh morning air; they spoke of love and condolences and hope.

You’re not alone. We can make it through this.

Leave a Reply

