Bumps

Every time I see this chainsaw it makes me smile, and I know what you’re thinking, only a psychopath would smile at the sight of a chainsaw. But, I can assure you, I’m no psychopath, although I’ve had my moments, lol.

Anyhow, back to the chainsaw, 6 months ago I couldn’t start it. I had tried over and over and over, it’s one of the tasks you have to master for your firefighter 1, and try as I might I just couldn’t do it.

So, one drill night I asked one of the guys to help me, hoping he could see what I was doing wrong. He watched as I tried and tried and tried again, he gave me a few suggestions and still nothing. A few minutes went by and another firefighter joined us outside adding in more suggestions, pretty soon all of the firefighters at drill were outside, circled around me, rooting for me, encouraging me, giving me helpful tips, techniques, and tricks to try. I kid you not, I tried for 90 minutes straight to start that thing, my arms were jello and so were my legs, my glutes ached and my back screamed, but I couldn’t stop, I refused to stop. And finally, it happened, it turned over, and the guys erupted in cheers. These are grown men we’re talking about, cheering for me like I’d just thrown the game winning pitch at the World Series. If I wasn’t ready to keel over I would have cheered too, instead I mustered what was left of my arm strength to give high fives =)

And that moment stuck with me, it cemented how amazing we can ALL be if we really root for each other, if we encourage each other, if we truly want the best for each other. And it reminded me that if you want something bad enough, and you don’t give up, someday what seemed impossible will be just another bump on your map.

And today, as I pulled that chainsaw off the truck, it made me smile, and when I started that bad boy in just a few pulls, you can bet I let out a “heck yeah!”

Now, go do something that’ll make you cheer.

With Love,

Kellyimage

Leave a Reply

